El Fin

Today is my last day here in Gaborone.  It was kind of bittersweet, because I am ready to go home, but I also don’t want to leave all of the wonderful people I’ve met here.  Luckily, we got to spend at least the entire morning together on a trip to Main Mall.  People wanted to do some last minute souvenir shopping and we ended up having lunch there.  I wanted to make sure I tried everything that I could to get all of the culture here, and since so many of my UB friends told me I HAD to go eat at Chicken Licken, that’s where I had my last lunch in Gaborone 😀

The menu at Chicken Licken.  It’s like a KFC, but better food, I think, although KFC at Main Mall had a pretty nice place too.  But at Chicken Licken, they even have fancy decorations:

Maren showing off the vases in Chicken Licken.

My food + the tray.  I didn’t realize that I was about to consume “soul food.”

It was pretty good and it was kind of nice to not eat the usual rice/pasta and chicken/beef for lunch.

I came back to school and had to start packing, which was depressing, because that meant that it was getting closer to Tuesday.  We did get a little break when Maren and I brought our paper to our mentors along with the box of See’s chocolate that I brought from home.

Maabong and Cosmas opening the box of chocolates.

My mentors tasting my present.  I know it doesn’t look like it, but they really liked it!  I was also able to give presents to the three UB students who worked with us (Mosaic, Nikki, and Kay).  It was really hard saying bye to everyone I worked in lab with, because they were all really great and were a big part of my experience here.  It’s weird to think that I’m going to go back home and start doing other things, but they will still be here at the university working on the same stuff, doing the same thing every day.

I also got a picture of Sheldon outside of my room (for you Mommy)!

And we also got a final group picture at Curry Pot (the dining hall) at our last meal in Botswana.  There is a bus taking us to the airport at 8am tomorrow morning, so no breakfast on campus for us.

I’m really sad about leaving a country where the people have been so nice and great to us, even strangers, and where I have met a group of really amazing students.  I’ve had such a wonderful experience here and I am so happy and grateful for being able to come and participate in a really awesome program.  Sorry if this is sappy, but it’s been a wonderful 4 weeks in Botswana and I’m really sad that it’s over.

But I am also ready to go home too!  See you in Houston in two days!

8 responses to “El Fin

  1. See you in Houston in 4 weeks!

  2. I would never guess that eating fried chicken would be a cultural experience, but just knowing that it is makes it a cool thing to do.

    Thanks for the photo of Sheldon at the University of Bostwana. For all those who got a Sheldon from me, TN’s photo will be the first in my Sheldon Travel Album. I’d love more photos of other Sheldons’ travels.

  3. Awe, I have mixed feelings about you leaving Botswana too. Thanks to your blog, I feet like I have been there since day 1. It seems like you made great friends and had a wonderful time there. Hopefully the friendship and experience you gained will last a lifetime. On the other hand, I can’t wait to see you back home and check out my present:)
    Mommy – I will bring GT (one of other Sheldons) on my Baltic cruise:)

  4. Safe travels!

  5. I like this whole blog thing – caught up on your whole trip in 20 minutes. Look forward to seeing you in person Sunday and getting details.

  6. Can’t believe you thought to bring presents for people you would meet and befriend in Botswana before you even left! Brilliant 🙂

Leave a Reply

